Saving History Saturday: Tennessee Civil War Preservation Association Awards Announced

The Tennessee Civil War Preservation Association (TCWPA) announced the winners of the 2024 Mary Ann Peckham/Robert A. Ragland award at their annual meeting on March 9th.

The award recognizes leaders from across the state of Tennessee for their work in their communities to protect and interpret Civil War sites.

TCWPA President Anthony Hodges presented the award to this year’s recipients: Mike Hoover and Bob Ireland, both of Franklin, TN.

Mike Hoover was recognized for his outstanding leadership in the preservation of Spring Hill Historical Cemetery. President Hodges stated that, “Even though the cemetery isn’t a typical Civil War ‘battlefield,’ its importance to historic preservation related to Van Dorn, Forrest, Hood’s Tennessee campaign and Middle Tennessee Civil War history cannot be overstated.” TCWPA presented a $500 grant to the Spring Hill Historical Cemetery as part of the award.

Bob Ireland was recognized for his contribution to the Battlefield Assessment process and TCWPA’s Statewide Preservation Plan strategies. Mr. Ireland has done comprehensive assessments of four battlefields: Thompson Station, West Harpeth, Little Harpeth, and Brentwood. “As a volunteer, Bob has provided well documented information about battlefields as supported with primary source material, maps, and relevant data to help assess the significance of these battlefield sites,” Hodges reflected. A $500 grant for interpretive signage at Thompson Station was included with the award.

For more information about TCWPA, and their statewide preservation plan, click here.

1 Response to Saving History Saturday: Tennessee Civil War Preservation Association Awards Announced

  1. Congratulations to you gentlemen and good on you … Franklin is my absolute favorite CW battlefield … I get a sort of a “historical chill” everytime I go there.

Please leave a comment and join the discussion!