ECW Awards

The Emerging Civil War Award for Service in Civil War Public History
Recognizes the work of an individual or organization that has made a significant impact on the field of public history in a way that better helps the general public connect with America’s defining event


The Emerging Civil War Book Award
Presented to the best Civil War book published during the previous calendar year


The Brig. Gen. Thomas Greely Stevenson Award
Presented to an individual or organization in recognition of outstanding service to ECW


The Emory Upton Award
Presented to a member of the Emerging Civil War community in recognition of outstanding service to ECW

  • 2022 Dan Welch
  • 2021 Paige Gibbons Backus
  • 2020 Rob Orrison
  • 2019 Sarah Kay Bierle
  • 2018 Kristopher D. White
  • 2017 Jennifer Mackowski
  • 2016 Chris Mackowski