New Emerging Civil War book series debuts!

We are delighted to announce a new partnership with publisher Savas Beatie for the launch of a new book imprint, the Emerging Civil War Series.

The Emerging Civil War Series offers compelling and easy-to-read overviews of some of the Civil War’s most important battles and issues. The first two titles will be co-authored by Chris Mackowski and Kristopher White.

“The Civil War is America’s great story. What makes it so vital, though, is that it’s not just the story of us as a nation, it’s the story of us as individuals–real people with real hopes and fears and dreams and flaws. Telling those very human stories in the context of that vital national story sits at the heart of this series,” said author Mackowski.

“Readers will see the war in a new way, through fresh perspectives. We want to grab their attention and, I hope, lead them on to further study and deeper understanding,” said Mackowski.

Simply Murder: The Battle of Fredericksburg, December 13, 1862, the first book in the series, will be available from Savas Beatie in December 2012 and debut at the 150th anniversary events at Fredericksburg & Spotsylvania National Military Park Virginia.

Simply Murder not only recounts Fredericksburg’s tragic story of slaughter, but includes invaluable information about the battlefield itself and the insights Mackowski and White learned from years of walking the ground.

As former park historians, Mackowski and White have worked for years along Fredericksburg’s Sunken Road and Stone Wall, and they’ve escorted thousands of visitors across the battlefield.

Simply Murder will be followed by the second book in the series, A Season of Slaughter: The Battle of Spotsylvania Court House, May 8-21, 1864, scheduled to release in 2013. Also on the horizon are books on the Battle of Cold Harbor and an expanded second edition of Mackowski and White’s The Last Days of Stonewall Jackson.

“We are always on the lookout for new ways to bring Civil War material to our readers,” said Savas Beatie Marketing Director Sarah Keeney. “We know Civil War-lovers will see value in this series, and I’m sure we’ll create some new history fans with the easily-accessible content in the Emerging Civil War Series.”

Savas Beatie LLC is a leading military and general history publishing company. For more information, visit


Simply Murder
By Chris Mackowski and Kristopher White
List $12.95
ISBN: 978-1-61121-146-7
Published December 2012 by Savas Beatie LLC

A Season of Slaughter
By Chris Mackowski and Kristopher White
List $12.95
ISBN: 978-1-61121-148-1
Published 2013 by Savas Beatie LLC

Both book will be available at bookstores nationwide and online.

1 Response to New Emerging Civil War book series debuts!

Please leave a comment and join the discussion!